Running of the Mouths

Marlins Manager Ozzie Guillen, shown here with the White Sox, was suspended for 5 games for comments about Fidel Castro...

One part of the new Oriole season that has cheered me has been the fact that Luke Scott is no longer an Oriole.  Before last season, he gained attention for parroting the Birther beliefs about President Obama’s birth certificate:

He was not born here. … That’s my belief. I was born here. If someone accuses me of not being born here, I can go — within 10 minutes — to my filing cabinet and I can pick up my real birth certificate and I can go, “See? Look! Here it is. Here it is.” The man has dodged everything. He dodges questions, he doesn’t answer anything. And why? Because he’s hiding something.

While Oriole owner Peter Angelos is a longtime Democratic powerbroker who donated to President Obama’s campaign in 2008, he had the team walk the controversy back from the edge, by distancing the team from Scott’s comments.  

Former Oriole Luke Scott, known for being out of left field with his opinions...

Scott, aside from having the Orioles acknowledge that the comments were entirely his own, had nothing happen to him in terms of losing playing time for running off at the mouth.  But limited to only 64 games last year because of a shoulder injury, his declining production and physical limitations made it easy for the struggling franchise to cut him loose after the season.  But it’s important to note that he was not punished for his opinions about President Obama.

Ozzie Guillen, Miami Marlins manager, was, on the other hand, today suspended for five games today for making comments that ostensibly praised Cuban leader Fidel Castro.  

Why must it be that, in matters of opinion in Major League Baseball, that Fidel Castro somehow outranks President Obama?  I am within my right to ignore both men’s comments, even if I disagree with both of them.  I don’t feel that either should be punished.  But as I noted above, the fact that Luke Scott is no longer an Oriole is not something I’m disappointed with.

Despite his obvious flaws as a baseball owner, I suppose I ought to give Oriole owner Peter Angelos credit for understanding the Constitutional allowances that enable all of us in America the opportunity to make asses out of ourselves.

Leave a Reply

