The Secret World of Arrieta

BALTIMORE, MD - APRIL 06: Starting pitcher Jake Arrieta #34 of the Baltimore Orioles delivers the first pitch of opening day to batter Denard Span #2 of the Minnesota Twins during the first inning at Oriole Park at Camden Yards on April 6, 2012 in Baltimore, Maryland. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)

Who knows why she suddenly got interested, but instead of bugging me to watch the trailer (yet again) for Pixar’s Brave, Kate instead wanted to know what I was looking at.  So I pulled it up off of my Facebook feed.  She watched, with rapt attention, all of it

A Q&A ensued:

“Who’s that?”

“Jake Arrieta”

“It’s like the Arriety the movie!” 

“Yeah, it kind of is…”

“Why are you watching that baseball game?”

“It’s the Orioles.”

“Who are the Olioles?”

“They are my favorite team.”

“The Olioles are my favorite team too!”

Lest you wonder, that was unsolicited on my part.  Given that she’s only seen the Padres, Dodgers, and Angels play, for her to, literally, come out of left field with that last comment made Opening Day a perfect one.

And it goes to reinforce an implied point about Arte Moreno.  You gotta grow your fanbase.  Starting them young, rather than stealing them old, is the way to start.  I know Katelyn isn’t that set yet (she likes the Padres, too, depending upon the day…) but I’ll make sure that I’ll have a hand in it.

Leave a Reply

