M&Morning

Here's hoping that the preschool doesn't think I feed Kate this for her breakfast...

“Remember the days when you let your child have some chocolate if he finished his cereal? Now, chocolate is one of the cereals.” ― Robert Orben

“My daddy gave me M&Ms for breakfast!”

Uh. Oh joy.  Must. Gain. Control of the debate!  What the heck will her preschool teacher think?

“Katelyn, tell them why you had M&Ms this morning!…”

Flashback to last Friday.  With a sick child with the flu in tow, and a dosage of Tamiflu in hand, it’s dinner time.  Given how important that the medicine be eaten with food, I decide to give her the first dose after she’d had some blueberries.  Until I looked up some additional background information, I had no idea that the Tamiflu’s natural taste was somewhat nasty.   Worse, I didn’t get a measuring type spoon that normally comes with the medicine, I got a syringe, not unlike what I used for Dory, our dog, when she needed medicine.  But, figuring the drug manufacturer knew what they were doing (huh?), I decide the use the syringe to directly administer the first dose.

Now, prior to coming home, at the drug store, I asked that they flavor the medicine.  Usually I pick the flavor, but since Katelyn was with me, I give her the choice.  After dissuading her from Sour Apple, she chooses Mango.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t work.  For only the third time in her life, Kate ralphs up.  Up comes the medicine when I give it to her.  I assume that it was because I might have stuck the syringe too far down and kicked in her gag reflex.  She fights me when I give her another dose of the medicine, but I get it down.

5 days of this await.

The next morning, it begins again.  Even though, I have switched to using a shot glass rather than a syringe, Kate fights the medicine.  While she’s feeling somewhat better, both the wife and I want to strangle this bug early.  The duel begins.  This time, Amber had an idea.  She leaves the room, and comes back in with a few M&Ms.  For each sip, Kate gets candy.  It’s a struggle, still, but not as epic.  By the evening, small bits of colored candy are going down the kid’s gullet while she drinks her medicine.  On the next morning, Sunday, I’m pretty much just handing her full bags of either snack size Skittles or plan M&Ms.

Later on, while browsing the web, I read about how nasty Tamiflu tastes.  Generating some sympathy with a 4-year-old essentially drinking something that tastes like mango-flavored Dag Nasty Evil, I see that some moms suggest adding huge amounts of sugar-free Chocolate syrup.  Given that we didn’t have that, but did have surplus amounts of M&Ms and Skittles, I figured that a few days of sugar coating was worth the sacrifice.

But if you know my daughter, naturally, at this point, she’d begun to make requests, eschewing the mixture of the two treats for the Easter season colored Skittles.  As with most anything I come into contact with, what began as a minor tragedy has devolved into farce.  Hence, this morning, when Katelyn takes the last bit of her Tamiflu, she pretty much is eating candy to go along with her breakfast.

But she’s done.

Heading off to bed tonight though, Kate asks if she needs to take her medicine.  I can’t help but notice that she’s eyeing where Amber keeps the candy stash.

“Nah, Katelyn.  All done.  Time for a story…”

Leave a Reply

