The End of Yuban

“You just fulfilled the first rule of law enforcement: make sure when your shift is over you go home alive. Here endeth the lesson.” — Malone, The Untouchables

I have shoved reluctant clothes into the suitcase, drinking the last bit of Yuban I will have this week.  I wonder how, especially after how good the coffee is at the Resort’s restaurant, and how good the Camp food has been for the students, why I’m left drinking Yuban that is older than the organic food movement in general…

Our bus driver will be the same we’ve had on Tuesday, which means we’re either going to leave in a few hours, or not.   But there is still one more breakfast, and one more meeting with the Camp’s counselors to discuss the week.  As I type this, I still have to fill out the teacher evaluation form on my experiences for the week, and I puckishly consider noting that I want the same French press coffee that the counselors get–and I am even willing to pour more water on my clothes to get it!

But I’m not.  They’ve done a nice job of giving the 6th graders a memorable experience this week.  My partner and I have been here merely as spectators to the festivities.  When we get back to school next week, we’ll be back in charge of stuff again, and with state testing coming up, this past week will be quickly be in the rear view mirror.  But as rear view mirrors go, hopefully it will be on the vehicles that she and I will be driving, not those of our hapless bus driver.

Regardless, it’s time to go home first.

Leave a Reply

