All That You Can Leave Behind

“Camping is nature’s way of promoting the motel business.”
Dave Barry

I suppose that there is a definitive advantage to owning all sorts of clothing that happens to be differing shades of dark and navy blue–it makes packing for a trip fairly easy in terms of accessorizing.  And I am packing for a trip.  I have to leave tomorrow for 6th grade camp.

This is not my first visit to a 6th grade camp.  Last year was my first (or second, if you count my own time as a 6th grader…).  I was hoping to avoid it this year, but with the grade level smaller than it was last year (and with only 2 teachers as opposed to 3), when the numbers reached a tipping point, I was told I had to go.  It was only a short time later that I realized that the date we left, would fall on Valentine’s Day.  A social faux pas, to be sure, with regards to the scheduling.  Later, I reminded my principal of that fact, who seemed perplexed that I doth protest this scheduling, since I actually had a desire to be with a significant other rather than away from home on Valentine’s Day.

Try as I might, there is no way to get out of this.  And therefore, this little introduction to the week that will be.  Last year, in the midst of my pre-departure complaints, a friend noted on my Facebook wall:

By trapped, I know you mean fun fun fun. I gotta believe the best (though perhaps saddest) time for a teacher is watching your 6 graders get ready for Jr High. There goes your flock Hector. Growing up is cool!!

He has a point, even if I don’t want to admit it.

Leave a Reply

